The Primary Class Meeting – Going Deeper

Event Date:

January 31, 2022

Event Time:

7:00 pm

Event Location:

Virtual Event via Zoom

I will be conducting a 2-hour Zoom workshop on Monday, January 31st, titled, “The Primary Class Meeting – Going Deeper”.  This one-session workshop is for Primary teaching staff and school leaders.

The workshop will help participants will work together to develop  Class Meeting facilitation skills and practices, that go beyond the basics. During this experiential class, new and veteran educators and administrators will learn how to:

  1. Get beyond “Compliments and Appreciations” and into problem-solving.
  2. Develop a social-skills (Grace and Courtesy) curriculum, specific to the needs of your classroom,  that fosters empathy, mutual respect, and responsibility.
  3. Solve common challenges that arise in Class Meetings (agenda items, misbehavior, timing, etc.).
  4. Q&A Session.

This 2-hour class is for teaching and administrative staff who are familiar with the Class Meeting process.  Whether you are just starting Class Meetings, or have been using them for a while, this session is designed to deepen your facilitation skills and help make your Class Meetings more meaningful and productive.  No one teacher can “manage” a classroom.  We need the whole community to create a peaceful classroom that fosters mutual respect, responsibility, and cooperation.  A meaningful and productive Class Meeting is an essential element in achieving this goal.

If you are not aware, our new book, Positive Discipline in the Montessori Classroom, by Jane Nelsen and me, was released this summer.  We are particularly proud of the Class Meeting section of our book. and I think you will find it very helpful.  If you don’t have a copy, you can find it at Montessori Services.

Facilitated By

Chip DeLorenzo

Language

English

Date

Monday, January 31, 2022

Time

4:00 to 6:00 p.m. PST

5:00 to 7:00 p.m. MST

6:00 to 8:00 p.m. CST

7:00 to 9:00 p.m. EST

Platform

The class will be held via Zoom.

Cost

$50.00 – Before January 17, 2022

$65 – After January 17, 2022

 

Sorry, Event Expired

Event FAQs

What levels (age groups) is this class intended for?
The class is created for educators who work with children, ages three through six.
Should I have taken the Positive Discipline in the Montessori Classroom to attend this class?
While it is not necessary to have attended a class or workshop prior to taking this class, it is intended for participants who are familiar with the Positive Discipline Class Meeting process and have had some experience running Class Meetings.

Event Location:

  • Virtual Event via Zoom

Event Details

  • January 31, 2022 7:00 pm   -   9:00 pm
Share This Event
Add to Your Calendar
Subscribe
SUBSCRIBE NOW

Join Our Newsletter

Monthly Newsletter and Information on Upcoming Events
close-link
Scroll to Top