The Elementary and Adolescent Class Meetings – Going Deeper

Event Date:

January 24, 2022

Event Time:

7:00 pm

Event Location:

Virtual Event via Zoom

I will be conducting a 2-hour Zoom class on January 24th, titled, “The Elementary and Adolescent Class Meeting – Going Deeper” for Elementary teaching staff and leaders.

The class will delve deeper into  Class Meeting skills and practices, that go beyond the basics. During this experiential class, new and veteran educators and administrators will learn how to:

  1. Resolve interpersonal conflict at the Class Meeting.
  2. Develop a social-skills curriculum, specific to the needs of your classroom,  that fosters empathy and peer support.
  3. Solve common challenges that arise in Class Meetings (agenda items, misbehavior, buy-in, timing, etc.).
  4. Q&A Session.

This 2-hour class is for teaching and administrative staff who are familiar with the Class Meeting process.  Whether you are just starting Class Meetings, or have been using them for a while, this session is designed to deepen your facilitation skills and help make your Class Meetings more meaningful and productive.  No one teacher can “manage” a classroom.  We need the whole community to create a peaceful classroom that fosters mutual respect, responsibility, and cooperation.  The Class Meeting is an essential element in achieving this goal.

If you are not aware, our new book, Positive Discipline in the Montessori Classroom, by Jane Nelsen and me, was released this summer.  We are particularly proud of the Class Meeting section of our book. and I think you will find it very helpful.  If you don’t have a copy, you can find it at Montessori Services.

Facilitated By

Chip DeLorenzo

Language

English

Date

Monday, January 24, 2022

Time

4:00 to 6:00 p.m. PST

5:00 to 7:00 p.m. MST

6:00 to 8:00 p.m. CST

7:00 to 9:00 p.m. EST

Platform

The class will be held via Zoom.

Cost

$50.00 – Before January 10, 2022

$65 – After January 10, 2022

 

Sorry, Event Expired

Event FAQs

What levels (age groups) is this class intended for?
The class is created for educators who work with children, ages six through adolescence.
Should I have taken the Positive Discipline in the Montessori Classroom to attend this class?
While it is not necessary to have attended a class or workshop prior to taking this class, it is intended for participants who are familiar with the Positive Discipline Class Meeting process and have had some experience running Class Meetings.

Event Location:

  • Virtual Event via Zoom

Event Details

  • January 24, 2022 7:00 pm   -   9:00 pm
Share This Event
Add to Your Calendar
Subscribe
SUBSCRIBE NOW

Join Our Newsletter

Monthly Newsletter and Information on Upcoming Events
close-link
Scroll to Top